Donate Us


Search here...

Sunday, September 27, 2020

Bihar : The eastern state of India. Know about Bihar.

Bihar is a state in the eastern India of the Republic of India, whose ancient name was Magadha and the ancient capital was Rajgir, the present capital of Bihar is Patna whose historical name was Pataliputra. Bihar is the third largest state in India by population and the 13th largest state in terms of geographical location, with a population of 5,41,85,347 males and 4,96,19,290 females according to the 2011 census of Bihar, 10,38,04,637. And the total area of ​​Bihar is 94,163 square kilometers.

Bihar is surrounded by West Bengal in the east, Jharkhand in the south, Uttar Pradesh in the west and Nepal in the north. The creation or emergence of the state of Bihar occurred after the partition of Bengal in 1905, when the area of ​​Bihar, Orissa and Jharkhand were separated from Bengal and the state of Bihar was created, but in 1936, Orissa was separated from Bihar and in the year 2000 A.D. Jharkhand was separated from Bihar.

Bihar Divisions and Sub Divisions or Districts ---

Bihar is divided into a total of 9 divisions and 38 divisions or districts which are as follows ……

1. Tirhut Division

        1. Vaishali   2. Muzaffarpur  3. Shivahar

        4. Sitamarhi 5. East Champaran
        6. West Champaran

2. Saran Division

        7. Gopalganj 8. Siwan 9. Saran

3. Darbhanga Division

      10. Madhubani 11. Darbhanga
      12. Samastipur

4. Koshi Division

     13. Supaul 14. Madhepura 15. Saharsa

5. Purnia Division

        16. Araria 17. Kishanganj 18. Purnia
        19. Katihar

6. Bhagalpur Division

        20. Bhagalpur 21. Banka

7. Munger Division

      22. Begusarai 23. Khagaria 24. Munger
      25. Lakhisarai 26. Sheikhpura 27. Jamui

8. Patna Division

       28. Patna 29. Nalanda 30. Bhojpur
       31. Buxar 32. Kaimur (Bhabhua)
       33. Rohtas

9. Magadh Division

34. Arwal 35. Jehanabad 36. Gaya
37. Aurangabad 38. Nawada

Major rivers of Bihar -

The river Ganges flows through the middle of Bihar, Bagmati, Koshi, Gandak, Budhi Gandak, Ghaghra river flows through the north of Bihar and the Sone, Punpun, Phalgu and Kyul rivers are the major rivers flowing in the south end of Bihar.

Major crops of Bihar ———

Since most of Bihar is located in the plains of the Ganges and its tributaries, Bihar is an agricultural state, major crops are paddy, wheat, pulses, oilseeds, maize, tobacco, vegetable, banana, mango and litchi. Banana of Hajipur and Litchi of Muzaffarpur are very famous. The banana of Hajipur and the lychee of Muzaffarpur have been praised in various songs.

The principal language or dialect of Bihar ————

In Bihar, mainly Hindi, Urdu, Bhojpuri, Bajjika, Magahi, Maithili and Angika languages ​​are spoken and understood. Hindi is the first official language of Bihar and Urdu is the second official language. People of Bhojpuri language are agitating to get Bhojpuri official language status.

Major dishes of Bihar -

In Bihar, mainly roti-vegetable, rice-dal is the choice of the people, but Bihar is identified with litti-chokha in terms of cuisine, litti made from chickpea sattu and chokha made from bhunta brinjals have a great taste. Apart from this, local dishes like Sattu, Chuda (Foha) - Curd, Dalpuri, Kachori or Puri, Malpua are the weakness of the people here. Garlic chutney, brinjal and potato bharta or chokha are also very much preferred. After Lalu Prasad Yadav became Railway Minister, Litti-Chokha has started meeting at important stations of Indian Railways, film actor Aamir Khan had eaten Litti-Chokha during his Bihar visit and praised it, Prime Minister Narendra Modi  also shared the picture with Litti-Chokha and praising it.

Major festivals of Bihar -

The major festivals of Bihar are Dussehra, Chhath, Deepawali, Eid, Bakrid, Muharram, Holi, Mahashivratri, Nagpanchami, Sri Panchami and Christmas. Due to the birth place of tenth Sikh Guru Govind Singh, his birth anniversary is also celebrate in Patna City (Patna). Apart from this, Krishna Janmashtami, Ganesh Utsav and other festivals are also celebrate in some parts of Bihar.

Major educational institutes of Bihar

Major Universities of Bihar -

  1. Patna University, Patna
  2. Pataliputra University, Patna
  3. Maulana Mazharul Haq Arabic-Persian University, Patna
  4. Nalanda Open University, Patna
  5. Aryabhatta Knowledge University, Patna
  6. Baba Saheb Bhimrao Ambedkar Bihar University, Muzaffarpur
  7. Indian Institute of Information and Technology, Bhagalpur
  8. Tilka Manjhi Bhagalpur University, Bhagalpur
  9. South Bihar Central University, Bodhgaya
  10. Magadh University, Bodh Gaya
  11. Mahatma Gandhi Central University, Motihari, East Champaran
  12. Lalit Narayan Mithila University, Darbhanga
  13. Kameshwar Singh Darbhanga Sanskrit University, Darbhanga
  14. Jayaprakash Narayan University, Chapra, Saran
  15. Bhupendra Narayan Mandal University, Madhepura
  16. Munger University, Munger
  17. Purnia University, Purnia
  18. Veer Kunwar Singh University, Ara
  19. Rajendra Agricultural University, Pusa, Samastipur
Medical institute

  • Patna Medical College and Hospital (PMCH), Patna
  • All India Institute of Medical Science (AIIMS), Patna
  • Indira Gandhi Institute of Medical Sciences (IGIMS), Patna
  • Nalanda Medical College and Hospital (NMCH), Patna
  • Buddha Dental Institute and Hospital, Patna
  • Sri Krishna Medical College and Hospital, Muzaffarpur
  • Rai Bahadur Tunki Sah Homoeopathic College and Hospital, Muzaffarpur
  • Katihar Medical College and Hospital, Katihar
  • Anugraha Narayan Magadh Medical College and Hospital, Gaya
  • Darbhanga Medical College and Hospital, Darbhanga
  • Jawaharlal Nehru Medical College and Hospital, Bhagalpur
  • Vardhman Institute of Medical Science, Nalanda
  • Madhubani Medical College and Hospital, Madhubani

Other Major Educational Institutions

  • Shericulture Institute, Bhagalpur
  • Chanakya Law University, Patna
  • Anugrah Narayan Institute for Social Change, Patna
  • Lalit Narayan Mishra Institute of Social Change, Patna
  • Central Plastic Engineering Research Institute (CIPET), Hajipur
  • Central Institute of Medicinal Education and Research (NIPER), Hajipur
  • Hotel Management, Catering & Nutrition Institute (Hotel Management), Hajipur
  • Prakrit Institute of Jainism and Ahinsa, Vaishali


Post a Comment